Wayne County Physician Herbert C. Smitherman Jr. MD, MPH, FACP Elected to Help Lead State Medical Society

Herbert C. Smitherman Jr, MD, MPH, FACP, a Detroit internal medicine specialist and professor of medicine at Wayne State University School of Medicine/ Detroit Medical Center and the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute, was elected to Michigan State Medical Society (MSMS) Board of Directors during the 158th annual meeting of the MSMS House of Delegates held in Dearborn on April 23rd. 

A graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Doctor Smitherman will serve a three-year term on the MSMS Board representing physicians from Wayne County. The MSMS Board sets policies and oversees operations for the medical society headquartered in East Lansing.

A member of the Wayne State University faculty for over 30 years, Doctor Smitherman also serves as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Health Centers Detroit Foundation Inc., a Federally Qualified Health Center Look-Alike program operating three health centers in Detroit and Chief Executive Officer, Michigan AHEC, Southeast Regional Center (SERC), Wayne State University.

The Michigan State Medical Society is the statewide professional association representing physicians and medical students in Michigan and is affiliated with the American Medical Association. Physician policies on various issues involving public health, health care delivery and medical ethics are set at the annual MSMS House of Delegates meeting.